Cadeby Mining Disaster

8th July 2012

On the 8th July 2012 4 students from De Warenne Academy led the procession through Denaby to remember the 91 miners who had been killed by the explosion at the Cadeby and Denaby Mine back in 1912.

A Y10 art group had spent a number of hardworking weeks under the guidance of art teachers Mrs Matthewman and Ms Lee to produce a 9ft banner for the Memorial group dedicated to the Cadeby and Denaby Mining Colliery Disaster. On the morning of the procession Paige Beech, Declan Earp, Danielle Andrews and Terri Harper walked with the banner through the streets of Denaby and attended the memorial service.